Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism

“Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism” was initiated in 1999 to honor Dean Emeritus, Chuck Y. Gee as he retired from the School of Travel Industry Management after over thirty years of service.


The School has continued the tradition of honoring a “legacy in tourism” in partnership with its Advisory and Alumni Boards. The event honors an individual who has made significant and long-term contributions to the travel industry in Hawai‘i.  From 2007-2009, the School collaborated with the Hawai‘i Hospitality Hall of Fame to honor leaders (posthumously) that were influential in Hawaii’s tourism.


Over the years, the event proceeds from this celebration have provided support for the School’s programs such as the establishment of the Gee Technology Learning Center at the TIM School, scholarships, teaching awards, Nā Kukui (Executive Mentor/Student Program) and graduation receptions.  Since 2011, all proceeds have benefitted student scholarship awards.


2016 Hawaiʻi Five-O
Peter Lenkov, Executive Producer
The late Leonard Freeman, Creator
2015 Chris Tatum, Marriott International
2013 Patricia Tam, Halekūlani Corporation
2012 Ernest Nishizaki, Kyo-ya Company LLC
2011 Mark Dunkerley, Hawaiian Airlines
2007-2009 Hawai‘i Hospitality Hall of Fame Honorees
2006 School of Travel Industry Management (40th Anniversary)
2005 Peter Schall, Hilton Hotels Hawai‘i
2004 Dr. Richard Kelley, Outrigger Enterprises, Inc.
2003 Ambassador L.W. “Bill” Lane, Jr. and Mrs. Jean Lane, Sunset Magazine
2002 Former Governor George Ariyoshi
2001 Robert Burns, Regent International Hotels
2000 John Brogan, Sheraton Hotels
1999 Chuck Yim Gee, School of Travel Industry Management