TIM History Timeline

  • 1960

    Governor of Hawaiʻi, William F. Quinn, who also was President of the Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) successfully lobbied PATA to select Hawaiʻi as the site of the first hotel management degree program at its 9th Annual Conference.

  • 1963

    John Bridges, former Director General of the British Travel & Holidays Association appointed head of the Department of Hotel Management & Tourism at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa College of Business Administration (CBA).

  • 1964

    Dr. Edward M. Barnet appointed Associate Dean of CBA and director of the Hotel Management & Tourism program.

  • 1966

    First class of graduates with Bachelor of Business Administration with an emphasis in Hotel Management & Tourism degrees.


    Hotel Management & Tourism program granted "School" status as the " School of Travel Industry Management (TIM)".

  • 1967

    Dr. Edward M. Barnet became the first dean of the TIM School.


    TIM Club, predecessor of Travel Industry Management Students' Association (TIMSA), formed.


    TIM Night initiated by Visiting Professor Chuck Gee from the College of Tropical Agriculture & Human Resources.

  • 1968

    TIM School relocated to Lower Campus Road portables.

  • 1969

    TIM Alumni, predecessor of TIM International, Inc. (TIMI), chartered as an independent non-profit corporation.

  • 1972

    TIM School moved to "B" tower of Business Administration building.

  • 1974

    Paul Broten appointed Dean of the TIM School.

  • 1975

    Dr. David Bess appointed Interim Dean of the TIM School.

  • 1976

    Associate Dean Chuck Gee appointed Dean of the TIM School.

  • 1978

    Ambassador William L.W. "Bill" Lane, Jr., publisher of Sunset Magazine, provides funding to initiate the establishment of the Sunset Reference Center.


    Eta Sigma Delta (ESD), the international hospitality management honor society established.

  • 1979

    The Executive Development Institute for Tourism (EDIT) is established as a 6-week program conducted annually for senior managers in the travel industry. Sponsored jointly by PATA and the TIM School.

  • 1983

    Club Managers Association of America (CMAA) student chapter established.

  • 1985

    PATA Hawaiʻi satellite chapter, a student organization, formed at the TIM School.


    Ad hoc TIM research unit established by resolution and funding from the Hawaiʻi State Legislature.

  • 1986

    TIM School moved into its permanent home in George Hall, which was renovated with funds from the travel industry.


    Hawaiʻi International Hotel Institute (HIHI), a 6-week summer program for mid-level travel industry managers, was established through an endowment from Beatrice W. Parrent.

  • 1987

    Leong Hop & Bernice C. Loui Computer Lab opened

  • 1988

    Master of Professional Studies (MPS) in Travel Industry Management graduate program launched


    George Hall received the Historic Hawaiʻi Foundation Preservation Award.

  • 1989

    Center for Tourism Policy Studies established to address tourism development issues in Hawaiʻi and the Asia-Pacific region.


    TIM Pacific Transportation Student Association (PTSA) established as part of the National Defense Transportation Association (NDTA) and Delta Nu Alpha Transportation fraternity (DNA).

  • 1991

    TIM School granted autonomous status by the UHM Board of Regents.


    Bachelor of Science in TIM offered to students.


    World Tourism Organization (WTO) designated the TIM School as an International Tourism Education and Training Center


    TIM School accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA) under the Council of Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education (CHRIE)

  • 1994

    UHM Board of Regents granted MPS in TIM permanent status.

  • 1998

    MPS in TIM became a Master of Science degree program.

  • 1999

    Establishment of the Ambassador L. W. "Bill" Lane, Jr. and Mrs. Jean Lane Lectureship in Sustainable Tourism and the Environment


    1st Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism event

  • 2000

    Dr. Pauline Sheldon appointed Interim Dean of the TIM School.


    TIM School re-accredited by ACPHA through 2008.

  • 2001

    e-TIM online distance education program launched.

  • 2002

    TIM School receives TedQual(Tourism Education Quality) certification from WTO.

  • ,


    Chuck Yim Gee Technology Learning Center opened.


    Leong Hop & Bernice C. Loui moved to the 1st floor in the newly renovated computer lab in George Hall.


    Bachelor of Science degree is given permanent status by UHM Board of Regents.


    Dr. Walter Jamieson appointed Dean of the TIM School.

  • 2006

    An industry-wide "Painting Bee" held to revamp the interior of George Hall


    TIM School celebrated its 40th anniversary

  • 2008

    Dr. Juanita Liu appointed Interim Dean of the TIM School.


    TIM School re-accredited by ACPHA through 2015

  • 2011

    Re-dedication ceremony for the Sunset Reference Center in honor of the late Ambassador L.W. "Bill" Lane, Jr.

  • 2012

    Re-dedication ceremony of the Leong Hop & Bernice C. Loui Computer Lab


    TIMI established the TIM International Endowment Scholarship Fund at the TIM School.

  • 2014

    Thomas Bingham appointed Interim Dean of the TIM School.

  • 2015

    TIM School Dean Emeritus and UH Board of Regent Chuck Yim Gee inducted into the PATA Gallery of Legends.


    TIM International, Inc alumni association established the Elena L.H. Tom Scholarship Endowment Fund for her years of service as the TIM School's secretary.

  • 2016

    TIM School re-accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA) through 2022