Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism

A benefit to raise scholarship funds for University of Hawai‘i Travel Industry Management students

The School of Travel Industry Management and the Shidler College of Business will host the Celebrate a Legacy in Tourism event on Thursday April 29, 2021, honoring Paul Kosasa, President & CEO of ABC Stores, with the Legacy in Tourism Award, and alumnus Glenn Vergara BBA ‘84, Vice President and General Manager of the Waikiki Resort Hotel, with the TIM Alumni Hall of Honor Award.

While current state restrictions on in-person gatherings have dashed our hopes for a live event, we have some special surprises planned to make this virtual event a true celebration for our honorees and a commemorative plaque will be mounted at George Hall to recognize our event sponsors for years to come.

Furthermore, all proceeds raised from this event will directly benefit Travel Industry Management student scholarships.

The gala was initiated in 1999 to honor Dean Emeritus Chuck Y. Gee as he retired from the TIM School after more than thirty years of service, and honors individuals who have made significant and long-term contributions to the travel industry in Hawai‘i with a Legacy in Tourism award and a TIM Alumni Hall of Honor award. View a list of honorees from past events here.

Previously, funds raised from this celebration have provided support for programs such as the establishment of the Gee Technology Learning Center at the TIM School, scholarships, teaching awards, graduation receptions and the Nā Kukui Netlinks event, which pairs students with executive mentors.

We are pleased to announce the 2021 honorees:

Paul Kosasa

Legacy in Tourism Award
Paul Kosasa

President & CEO
ABC Stores

Read Bio
Glenn Vergara

TIM Alumni Hall of Honor Award
Glenn Vergara, BBA ’84

Vice President and General Manager
Waikiki Resort Hotel

Read Bio

Mahalo to our sponsors!

Gold Sponsor

  • Ben & Vicky Cayetano
  • Central Pacific Bank
  • Conrad N. Hilton Foundation
  • First Hawaiian Bank
  • Honolulu Star-Advertiser
  • Kosasa Family and Employees of ABC Stores
  • Dr. Thomas Kosasa
  • Lawrence and Patricia Rodriguez
  • Jay Shidler on behalf of the Shidler College of Business
  • Ginny Tiu

Silver Sponsor

  • Bank of Hawaii
  • The Queen’s Health Systems
  • Travel Industry Management Alumni Association
  • Waikiki Resort Hotel

Bronze Sponsor

  • Alaska Airlines
  • Aulani, A Disney Resort & Spa
  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car & National Car Rental
  • Hawaii Building Maintenance
  • Hawaii Gas
  • Hawaii Lodging and Tourism Association
  • Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau
  • Kualoa Ranch Hawaii, Inc.
  • Marriott Vacations Worldwide – Hawaii
  • Outrigger Hospitality Group
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Saks Fifth Avenue
  • Trump International Hotel Waikiki
  • Y. Hata & Company

Media Sponsor

Support A Legacy In Tourism
  • Gold Sponsor: $10,000
  • Silver Sponsor: $7,500
  • Bronze Sponsor: $4,000
  • Suggested donation for individual ticket $125

With this year’s virtual format, your sponsorship gifts can now all be directed towards funding TIM School Scholarships! In addition, sponsors at the Bronze level and above will be listed on a special plaque mounted in George Hall, recognized in a “Mahalo” ad in the Honolulu Star Advertiser and included in acknowledgements in the Shidler and TIM School platforms. Donors please provide your email address to receive the event zoom link for access.

Sponsorship Committee


Vicky Cayetano

Larry Rodriguez


Marleen Akau

Julie Arigo, BBA ’88

Debi Bishop

Barbara Campbell

Lee-Ann Choy, BBA ’88

Shelley Cramer

Mitch D’Olier

Wendy Fujio

Matt Grauso

Wayne Hamano, BBA ’76

Salah Ihsan

Jason Ito, BBA ‘84

Gwendolyn LeBlanc

Dan Nishikawa

Ginny Tiu

Tina Yamaki

For more information contact:
Jamie Watanabe
Events Manager
(808) 956-0323

Giving Opportunities or to attend the event:
Kristi Bates
Executive Director of Development
(808) 956-3597